The Student Branch Board

Our branch committee is multi-national and multi-cultured team brimming with enthusiasm to promote the IEEE in our university. We are here to create a better environment for research and studies. We also want to build a better platform for students, academics, and industries to know each other. We want to help our members to enjoy science. You can contact the branch for any questions or ideas of future events at: ieeesb.qmul@gmail.com.

2017/2018 Committee Members:

Counselor: Ioannis Patras
Chair: Gnostothea Veroniki Morfi
Vice-Chair: David Hopes
Treasurer: Seyed Amir Alavi
Webmaster: Seyed Amir Alavi
WiE Affinity Group Chair: Najmeh Rezaei
Head Design : Gnostothea Veroniki Morfi
Publicity Officer : Elwin Ho Tin Yuen
Undergraduate Representative :  Jonathan Yung Jin Foo

2016/2017 Committee Members:

Counselor: Ioannis Patras
Chair: Maria Panteli
Vice-Chair: Gnostothea Veroniki Morfi
Treasurer: Gnostothea Veroniki Morfi
Webmaster: Jonathan Yung Jin Foo
WiE Affinity Group Chair: Elwin Ho Tin Yuen
Head Design : Gnostothea Veroniki Morfi
Publicity Officer : Elwin Ho Tin Yuen
Undergraduate Representative :  Julius De Quan Chiu


The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc., or more commonly the IEEE, is a non-profit organisation and is the world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology. Through its global membership, the IEEE is a leading authority on areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics among others. Members can rely on the IEEE as a source of technical and professional information, resources and services. To foster an interest in the engineering profession, the IEEE also serves student members in colleges and universities around the world. Other important constituencies include prospective members and organizations that purchase IEEE products and participate in conferences or other IEEE programs.

To advance global prosperity by fostering technological innovation, enabling members’ careers and promoting community worldwide.

The IEEE promotes the engineering process of creating, developing, integrating, sharing, and applying knowledge about electro and information technologies and sciences for the benefit of humanity and the profession.

IEEE Privacy Policy


The School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) was created by the merger of the Department of Computer Science and the Department of Electronic Engineering. The former departments were each among of the first of their kinds in Britain. We have now expanded on these traditional roots to create the new School, combining their strengths and looking to the future. In our School, through our researchers with over £35 million of funding from UK, EU and other research funders, we create new 21st century knowledge — changing and improving lives the world over. We pass that new knowledge and our excitement to our students at all levels: nine of our staff hold prestigious awards for teaching; we host a national EPSRC Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) in Media and Arts Technology; and we run award winning degree programmes with BUPT in China and with other partners elsewhere. Our research is used by leading companies — such as Microsoft — and we have also created a number of successful spin out companies. We host the EPSRC ImpactQM initiative to let industry and researchers work together more efficiently and profitably. We work hard to excite the next generation of computer scientists and electronic engineers through our school classroom talks and nationally leading outreach campaigns with the cs4fn and Audio! magazines.


Queen Mary is unique in being a compact campus university in the centre of the capital—one of the very few city-based campus universities in the UK. She has over 11,500 UK, European and international students studying in four faculties plus Barts and The London, Queen Mary’s School of Medicine and Dentistry. Queen Mary has its roots in four historic colleges: Queen Mary College, Westfield College, St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College and the London Hospital Medical College. The Mile End campus is historically the home of Queen Mary College, which began life in 1885 as the People’s Palace, a philanthropic endeavour to provide east Londoners with education and social activities. The College is admitted to the University of London in 1915.